Skip to content
A.T. Still University
Prospective Students
Current Students

iConnect News
ATSU Headlines
Arizona Campus Missouri Campus ASDOH ASHS KCOM SOMA Awards Community Health Centers Graduations Grants

Student Headlines AZ Student Affairs MO Student Affairs ATSU Portal Login

Alumni Headlines Classnotes In Memoriam Continuing Education

Faculty & Staff
Faculty/Staff Headlines Research & Publications ATSU Portal Login

iConnect Newsletter Grants & You Newsletter Athletic Training Alumni Newsletter Still Partner Newsletter Still- Well Being Newsletter Healthy Investments ATSU Research
A.T. Still Library Newsletter
Still Magazine
Current Issue
Past Issues
Donor Recognition
Hot Sheet
In Memoriam
The Last Word
Web Exclusives
President’s Desk
Research News
Spark Scholarly Activity Magazine
Fall 2018
Summer 2018
Spring 2018
Winter 2018
Supplement 2017
Fall 2017
Summer 2017
Spring 2017
Winter 2017
Supplement 2016
ATSU Research Fall 2016 ATSU Research Summer 2016 ATSU Research Spring 2016 ATSU Research Winter 2016 ATSU Research Supplement 2015 ATSU Research Fall 2015
Museum of Osteopathic Medicine

iConnect News

Panel discussion: The future of programmatic accreditation

February 22, 2019
Posted In: ATSU News, Faculty & Staff Headlines

The topic of the first panel discussion hosted by A.T. Still University’s (ATSU) Center for the Future of the Health Professions was “The Future of Programmatic Accreditation,” which took place on Sept. 11, 2018. This session was organized by Randy Danielsen, PhD, PA-C, DFAAPA, and moderated by Norman Gevitz, PhD, senior vice president of academic affairs. The eight panelists included two deans and six faculty and/or department heads from ATSU:

  • Lori Bordenave, PT, DPT, PhD, director of the Doctor of Physical Therapy program
  • Jyothi Guptha, PhD, FAOTA, chair of the Department of Occupational Therapy
  • Jeffrey Morgan, DO, MA, ACOI, dean of ATSU’s School of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Tabitha Parent-Buck, AuD, chair of the Department of Audiology
  • Eric Sauers, PhD, ATC, FNATA, chair of the Department of Interdisciplinary Health Sciences
  • Albert Simon, DHSc, MEd, PA-C, chair of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies
  • Mary-Katherine Smith, DrPH, MPH, MCHES, CPH, and COI, chair of the Department of the Master of Public Health program
  • Robert Trombly, DDS, JD, dean of ATSU’s Arizona School of Dentistry and Oral Health

Dr. Gevitz opened the session noting the timeliness and importance of the topic. In July 2018, the Trump administration proposed a regulatory overhaul of accreditation by introducing a wide-ranging rule-making session. Diane Auer Jones, the principle deputy undersecretary of the U.S. Department of Education noted, “The administration’s goal is to reduce compliance requirements for accreditors, freeing them up to focus on education equality while more clearly defining the college oversight roles of these agencies, state governments, and federal regulators.”
The panelists addressed where programmatic accreditation in the health professions is now and what is likely to be the future. The panel discussion transcript can be read here.

Comments are closed.

« »