Skip to content
A.T. Still University
Prospective Students
Current Students

iConnect News
ATSU Headlines
Arizona Campus Missouri Campus ASDOH ASHS KCOM SOMA Awards Community Health Centers Graduations Grants

Student Headlines AZ Student Affairs MO Student Affairs ATSU Portal Login

Alumni Headlines Classnotes In Memoriam Continuing Education

Faculty & Staff
Faculty/Staff Headlines Research & Publications ATSU Portal Login

iConnect Newsletter Athletic Training Alumni Newsletter Still Partner Newsletter Still- Well Being Newsletter Healthy Investments ATSU Research
A.T. Still Library Newsletter
Still Magazine
Current Issue
Past Issues
Donor Recognition
Hot Sheet
In Memoriam
The Last Word
Web Exclusives
President’s Desk
Research News
Spark magazine 2017-18
Spark magazine 2019-20
Winter 2020
Supplement 2019
Fall 2019
Spring 2019
Summer 2019
Winter 2019
Supplement 2018
Fall 2018
Summer 2018
Spring 2018
Winter 2018
Supplement 2017
Fall 2017
Summer 2017
Spring 2017
Winter 2017
Museum of Osteopathic Medicine

iConnect News

DHSc alumni and student reception held

February 7, 2014
Posted In: Alumni Headlines, Physician Assistant

2.3.14 DHSc 2Doctor of Health Sciences (DHSc) alumni gathered in Gilbert, Ariz., on Feb. 3 to connect with faculty and current students during the DHSc Winter Institute.

Attendees heard from ATSU President Craig Phelps, DO, ’84, FAOASM,; Randy Danielsen, PhD, PA-C, DFAAPA, dean, Arizona School of Health Sciences (ASHS); Helen Ewing, DHSc, MN, RN, chair; and Geoffrey Hoffa, MS, PA-C, ‘00, current DHSc student and ASHS Alumni Board Member. Below are some highlights from their updates:

  •  The ATSU Board of Trustees is focusing on a few large initiatives each year to make ATSU the pre-eminent institution in healthcare education. In 2014, the Board is focusing on: diversity, to have healthcare professionals who reflect the populations they serve; teaching- and learning-centeredness, to provide continuous educational opportunities for all connected to ATSU; and advancement, to help us become more mission-driven rather than tuition-driven.
  • ASHS continues to be ATSU’s largest school, with nine programs, more than 1,000 students and 6,500 alumni, and its 20-year anniversary is coming up next year. The DHSc program has grown under the leadership of Drs. Randy Danielsen, Eric Sauers, and Helen Ewing. It is thanks to them that the degree is so widely recognized and that there will be a smooth transition of the DHSc program from ASHS to the upcoming online school led by Don Altman, DHSc, ’12, dean, School of Health Management.
  • After nearly six years, Dr. Ewing will be leaving ATSU this spring to pursue an opportunity with the University of Maryland as the distance and e-learning programs advisor for the Rwanda Human Resources for Health Program. Dr. Ewing will be located in Africa and will be challenged to help build the health education infrastructure, faculty, and health workforce necessary to create a high-quality, sustainable healthcare system in Rwanda. We wish her the best as she helps develop online education programs in nursing and train Rwanda’s future healthcare leaders.
  • Thanks to the generosity of our alumni and faculty, two awards have been created to help students – one to help cover travel costs to the Winter Institute, and another to help cover costs for scholarly endeavors such as presenting at conferences or publishing. More information on the awards will be sent to students as soon as it is available. To contribute to the DHSc Winter Institute travel award, click here.
  • Geoffrey Hoffa presented Patrick Palmieri, DHSc, ’12, with the Distinguished Service Award and Dr. Helen Ewing with the Living Tribute Award on behalf of the ASHS Alumni Chapter Board. The Distinguished Service Award is awarded to ASHS alumni who make a lasting impact on society through outstanding professional, voluntary, or philanthropic accomplishments; the Living Tribute Award is awarded to ASHS faculty and staff who make an impact on the school through outstanding professional, academic, or research-related accomplishments. Congratulations to both!

  Please visit the alumni Facebook page to see additional photos.

Comments are closed.

« »